Tuesday, December 13, 2022

2022 NorCal Cross Country Awards

You can find previous winners at the following link. 

Most Valuable Runner (boys)-Sean Morello Albany (NCS)
Most Valuable Runner (girls)-Hanne Thomsen Montgomery (NCS)

Most Impressive Individual Performance (boys)-Grant Morgenfeld Palo Alto (CCS) at Woodbridge/De La Salle Invitational
Most Impressive Individual Performance (girls)-Hanne Thomsen Montgomery at NCS 

Most Impressive Performance (boys' team)-Granada at Woodbridge/Oakdale at CA State Meet
Most Impressive Performance (girls' team)-Los Altos at CCS

Rising Star (boys)-Broen Holman Sonora (SJS)/Aydon Stefanopoulus Los Gatos (CCS)/Trey Caldwell De La Salle (NCS)
Rising Star (girls)-Kinga Czajkowska Palo Alto (CCS)/Evie Marheineke Archbishop Mitty (CCS)

Most Inspirational (boys)-Eshaan Hussain California (NCS)
Most Inspirational (girls)-Tatum Olesen Menlo Atherton (CCS)

Most Improved Runner (boys)-Shane Badcock Dougherty Valley (NCS)/Blake Martin Redwood (NCS)
Most Improved Runner (girls)-Grace Roesgen San Ramon Valley (NCS)

Lifetime Achievement Award (boys)-Justin Pretre Menlo (CCS)
Lifetime Achievement Award (girls)-Ellie Buckley Campolindo (NCS)

Buster Posey (rookie of the year)-Isaac Abbott Jesuit (SJS)
Buster Posey (rookie of the year)-Lydia Anderson Los Altos (CCS)

Best Robin to Batman (best supporting actor)-Landon Pretre Menlo (CCS)
Best Robin to Batman (best supporting actress)-Shea Volkmer Campolindo (NCS)

Best Three Amigos-Dax Daley, Omar Alsaidi, Caleb Cavanaugh Oakdale (SJS)
Best Three Amigas-Kinga Czajkowska, Elizabeth Fetter, Hillary Studdert Palo Alto (CCS)

Boys Coach of the Year (Directing)-Jeremy Mattern Granada (NCS)/Guy Fowler Oakdale (SJS)
Girls Coach of the Year (Directing)-Stephanie MacKenzie Los Altos (CCS)/Chuck Woolridge Campolindo (NCS)
Coach of the Year-Albert Caruana Crystal Springs Uplands (CCS)


Unknown said...

Trey Caldwell makes Footlocker/Eastbay/Champs nationals as a soph and gets nothing? WOW!

Albert Caruana said...

Rising star.

Unknown said...

Not that you don't deserve it, but it is a little funny to give yourself coach of the year.

Albert Caruana said...

Very awkward yes.

pmccrystle said...

I nominated Albert for coach of the year...so, he can always say that someone else suggested it!!!!!!!!!! But, he knows he deserves it...and, I saw Albert right after the boys won, and he was truly and sincerely overjoyed and appreciative and proud and trying to be humble...but with two State Championship trophies in his hands that was tough! He put them down so I could hug him, though...

Albert Caruana said...

Getting congratulations from coaches like yourself was the best part of the whole experience because we all know how difficult it is to win a state championship. I actually checked and below is a list of all the CCS teams that have won state championships since the first one in 1987. Perhaps with the adjusted divisions, the section could consistently have more teams added to the list below after each season.

San Lorenzo Valley: 1999, 2000, 2004, 2005, 2013
Aptos: 2005, 2015
Los Altos: 2022
Crystal Springs Uplands: 2022

St. Francis, MV: 1998, 2017
Mt. View: 2009
Carmel: 2003
St. Ignatius: 1996
Crystal Springs Uplands: 2022

Popular Posts